Javascript is not activated in your browser. This website needs javascript activated to work properly.

Prize winner 2014

Prize winner

Per-Ola Carlsson
Dept of Medical Cell Biology, Uppsala University, Uppsala Biomedical Center, BMC, Sweden

Per-Ola Carlsson
Per-Ola Carlsson


Professor Per-Ola Carlsson receives the prize for his truly translational studies on diabetes. Few scientists in the field have been able to test concepts derived from islet research in a clinical setting in the way that Per-Ola Carlsson has done.
His efforts to improve the efficiency and effect of islet transplantation in patients with insulin-dependent diabetes may prove to have a great impact on future treatment strategies in Type 1 Diabetes.

Lund University Diabetes Centre, CRC, SUS Malmö, Jan Waldenströms gata 35, House 91:12. SE-214 28 Malmö. Telephone: +46 40 39 10 00